2021 Hall of Fame Committee election results

Six baseball legends were elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 as part of the institution’s Era Committees election cycle in results announced Sunday night on MLB Network. Bud Fowler and Buck O’Neil were elected from the Early Baseball Era Committee ballot of 10 candidates, while Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso and Tony Oliva were elected from the 10 Golden Days Era Committee candidates.

The Early Baseball Era ballot featured candidates whose primary contributions came before 1950. Seven of the 10 were stars in the Negro Leagues or pre-Negro Leagues, including both Fowler and O’Neil as well as John Donaldson, Vic Harris, Grant “Home Run” Johnson, Dick “Cannonball” Redding and George “Tubby” Scales. American and National Leaguers Bill Dahlen, Lefty O’Doul and Allie Reynolds rounded out the ballot.

The Golden Days Era ballot featured candidates whose primary contributions came between 1950-69. In addition to Kaat, Hodges, Miñoso and Oliva, the other candidates were Maury Wills, Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Roger Maris, Danny Murtaugh and Billy Pierce.

Both committees consist of 16 members who voted on each candidate. Candidates needed at least 12 votes (75%) to become part of the Hall’s Class of 2022, to be inducted in Cooperstown on July 24, along with any electees from this year’s Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) ballot.

The Early Baseball Era is considered only once every 10 years as part of the Hall’s Era Committees cycle, which also includes the Golden Days Era (every five years), Modern Baseball Era (1970-87; twice every five years) and Today’s Game Era (1988-present; twice every five years). So this will be the last chance at election for the Early Baseball Era candidates until the 2032 cycle.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button