Music News

Kendrick Lamar Releases ‘Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers’

Kendrick Lamar’s fifth solo album, “Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers,” finally arrived on Thursday night — his first full-length in five years. The 18-track album includes guest appearances from Summer Walker, Ghostface Killah, Kodak Black, Sampha, Baby Keem, Beth Gibbons of Portishead and a deeply emotional performance from Taylour Paige on the harrowing “We Cry Together.” Production is primarily from Sounwave, Duval Timothy, Boi-1DA, Lamar and Dave Free as pgLang, and Pharrell Williams on “Mr. Morale.” 

Variety‘s full review is coming soon; listen to the album here.

Lamar first shared the news that he was coming out with an album last month, responding to an earlier tweet from SK that said, “Kendrick Lamar is officially retired.” Lamar quote tweeted a response with a link:, which leads to a note that reads:

“The following statement was released today by oklama, through his company pgLang at 11:00 a.m. PT in Los Angeles, CA: Album: ‘Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers’
Release date: 5/13/2022. All factual information for this release will come directly from this source only.”

Lamar’s last full-length studio album was 2017’s Grammy-winning “Damn,” which was released just two days before the rap titan headlined Coachella and made him the honoree at Variety’s inaugural Hitmakers event. He followed up a year later with the curation of the “Black Panther” soundtrack, which included his duet with SZA, “All the Stars” — receiving four nominations at the 61st Grammys including record of the year and song of the year.

In 2021, he featured on two songs from his cousin Baby Keem’s latest album, “Range Brothers” and the Grammy-winning “Family Ties.”


1.        United In Grief
2.        N95
3.        Worldwide Steppers
4.        Die Hard ft. Blxst & Amanda Reifer
5.        Father Time ft. Sampha
6.        Rich (Interlude)
7.        Rich Spirit
8.        We Cry Together ft. Taylour Paige
9.        Purple Hearts ft. Summer Walker & Ghostface Killah

1.        Count Me Out
2.        Crown
3.        Silent Hill ft. Kodak Black
4.        Savior (Interlude)
5.        Savior ft. Baby Keem & Sam Dew
6.        Auntie Diaries
7.        Mr. Morale ft. Tanna Leone
8.        Mother I Sober ft. Beth Gibbons of Portishead
9.        Mirror

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button